Just another WordPress.com site

An Interesting Thought…

Mrs. Figg

On twitter, I follow a person named thehpsecrets.  I have no idea how this person manages to gain information about J.K. Rowling and her th0ughts, but after doing some research it is all credible.  A recent tweet from thehpsecrets states: “Rowling had only suffered writer’s block badly once, and that was during the writing of Chamber of Secrets.”

My first reaction to this was, “Duh, that book is so slow in the middle, it makes sense that she would have had writers block.”  But then I began to think about this from a different angle.  Of all seven books, she only had a base instance of writers block ONCE.  The amount of detail that is put into the books, and all of the different character developments, and she only suffered one bad instance of writers block.  I’m sure there were other times when she needed to stop because her thoughts weren’t coming together as clearly as she would have liked, but obviously it wasn’t enough for her to comment on.

Another tweet from thehpsecrets caught my attention and then added to my previous thought process.  The tweet stated: “Mrs. Figg makes her living by breeding Kneazles.”  This fact about Mrs. Figg is 100% irrelevant.  Why is this even worth knowing?  It shows the amount of detail the J.K. goes into to write the Harry Potter books.

I am currently re-reading (listening) the series and have tried to pay closer attention to the little details.  I know all of the characters, plot lines, etc., but I wanted to see if I could get a glimpse of these ‘insignificant’ details.  I have found myself stopping to re-read a few sentences, but it has been those sentences that have grown my appreciation for her writing.

What are some things that you have caught in the books that were only mentioned once?  It may be worth re-reading to find this little gems.

Follow @thehpsecrets  on twitter!

Leave a comment